cultivate


Lately….
November 26, 2008, 4:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

photo-138

Here we are – the week of Thanksgiving 2008 already. I thought I’d take a cue from my wife, who talks a lot more about what’s happening in her life in her blog, and give an update on all things in my(our) life for the 4 of you out there that might look at this.

The last few months have been incredibly busy, as I’ve taken on a few new things I’ve never done before. The primary time commitment was writing our big-emphasis series for the year, “Kingdom,” which explored what Jesus really meant about the kingdom of God. Along with writing the messages, I also wrote the small group curriculum, which I must say was much more demanding. Kingdom Theology is central to the theology of the Vineyard movement, and we’d never really addressed the topic specifically, so I felt a lot of pressure to accurately and faithfully communicate such a huge, all-encompassing Biblical theme in a 6 week message series that’s understandable and practical. Were it simply a series on a book of the Bible or a certain topic it would have been a lot easier. I wrote our Christmas series this past year entitled “God Is Here” based on the Incarnation and it’s implications for missional living (I didn’t put it that way, however. That’s a vocabulary we are still learning.) That series was much simpler to put together. But overall, I thought the series and curriculum went well, and there was definitely some fruit from it, praise God.

I’m in the process of putting together our January series that will lay out our new mission statement through three weeks. I’ve not always had these responsibilities – but luckily through some great hiring (Kyle, our communications director), pretty much all of the website and graphic design load is off my shoulders. I’m free to lead and equip the worship bands, cultivate an arts community, and develop teaching series and curriculum when needed. That’s been awesome for me.

Erica and I are still living south of Lexington in Richmond, our college town. We’ve been planning to move to Lexington now for about 4 months, but pretty much all of our housing possibilities have fallen through. We know God is leading us in all this, so we’re taking it slowly and trying to discern where exactly God wants us. With the possibility of a VCC Richmond Campus coming sooner than we thought, we just might stick around. Who knows.

Whatever the case, we’re growing closer to one another and closer to God. We really sense that in some way this coming year will be a transitional year for us; what that means – well, we don’t know yet. I love being married – she’s more fun than ever to be around and she’s more beautiful everyday.

So that’s that. We’re crashing forward into whatever God is doing next. Can’t wait to see…

Justin


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment